20 Watts


Industry News, Week 1: Bonnaroo, Grammys, Sports, and the Format by 20watts
February 13, 2008, 3:13 am
Filed under: Industry News | Tags: , , , ,

**Editor’s note: Rachel’s column on what’s happening in the music industry will run every Wednesday.

Whew! There is always so much happening in the music industry it’s hard to decide what you people should know and look out for!

BONNAROO

Well first and foremost, the most exciting news of my week – The Bonnaroo 2008 Lineup has been announced! For those of you who don’t know, Bonnaroo is a 4-day-long festival in Tennessee that features music of all genres as well as art, comedy and film (think Woodstock with a little extra). This year headliners include Pearl Jam, Metallica, Jack Johnson and Kanye West. Other bands playing include Death Cab for Cutie, O.A.R., My Morning Jacket, and Rilo Kiley. There are even great artists of your parents era- Willie Nelson. B.B. King, and the Allman Brothers. It’s definitely shaping up to be the best festival of the summer…and my absolute dream.

THE GRAMMYS

The Grammy’s were on Sunday! My guilty pleasure being award shows and award show fashion, I had to watch. The most notable performance of the night was Kanye West with a special appearance by Daft Punk. Alicia Keys’ performance featuring John Mayer was also stunning, and it was refreshing to see the stage shared by two artists who are so talented. And of course my favorite occurrence of the night was Amy Winehouse’s clean sweep. Even though she has so many critics, went to rehab, and is pretty much banned from the United States, I love her music (she has better songs besides “Rehab”) and was happy to see her win.

MUSIC + SPORTS?

As a die-hard Buffalo Bills fan, I almost didn’t watch the Super Bowl… THEN I heard that Tom Petty was playing the half-time show. It was the best half time show that I can remember in very recent years, and I’ve watched it on youtube numerous times this week. Rock also takes on hockey this week: the band Atreyu is teaming up with Easten Sporting Goods to make a special edition Atreyu hockey stick. Last time I checked, Sidney Crosby and Dominic Hasek aren’t really big Atreyu fans, but to each his own.

GOOD-BYE, FORMAT.

I also have some terrible news. For those of you who don’t know, the Format….are no longer. Yes, I know- it’s devastating. The band released a statement on February 7th that said they will no longer be touring or recording albums. I suggest you all do what I did and listen to “First Single” one last time. The Format will truly be missed in the music world.

RELEASES OUT FEBRUARY 19

Golden Delicious” Mike Doughty, Ato Records
Live” B.B. King, Geffen Records
Reach” Eyes Set to Kill, Breaksilence Records
Changes” A Cursive Memory, Vagrant Records

– Rachel

Comments Off on Industry News, Week 1: Bonnaroo, Grammys, Sports, and the Format





Comments are closed.



