20 Watts


Editor Picks 34: Hipster Olympics by alexandrakish
October 15, 2008, 2:28 pm
Filed under: Editor Picks | Tags:

Although I’ve only been there a handful of times, I get bad vibes from Williamsburg, Brooklyn.  Everytime I walk around there, I can’t help thinking, “Why does everyone look like they’re on the third day of a coke binge?” or “How the hell can these 20-sometings afford 2,000 dollar monthly apartments?” or “I guess my dunks really are last season!” 

Granted, the place has some perks–Beacon’s Closet, sweet little boutiques–but unfortunately, the art culture there has sold its soul to the emptiness of hipsterdom and gentrification.  I think this spoof just sums what this place is all about. 

And if you’re looking for music references, make sure to wait for the record-choosing contest about 5 minutes into the film!  The skit nails “hipster music” pefectly.

– Alex Kish, Reviews Editor

1 Comment

[…] PREVIOUS WILLIAMSBURG COVERAGE: Free Brooklyn shows, Freelance Whales in Williamsburg, Hipster Olympics […]

Pingback by Recession Makes Williamsburg Cool Again « 20 Watts




Comments are closed.



