20 Watts


Editor Picks 43: Boys Noizzzze by alexandrakish
October 29, 2008, 1:58 am
Filed under: Editor Picks | Tags: ,

Yo, so remember how I told you that I couldn’t stop listening to electro?  Well, I wasn’t kidding.  But now I’m starting to get into the hardcore stuff that makes you want to take LSD and dance all night.  And since I’m not about to trip balls anytime soon, I listen to Boys Noize to get in touch with my inner-groove.

Boys Noize–a.k.a. German DJ Alexandra Ridha–slams the shit out of his beats on his album Oi Oi Oi.  Ridha incorporates this computer voice that spews random comments like “yea” and “we all right cuz we all right,” which makes you feel like you’re listening to some sort of electro-god.  The voice is sort of similar to the one Radiohead adopts on Ok Computer, but it’s a lot deeper, more distorted and straight-up c-r-e-e-p-i-e-r!  The best track is definitely “Oh!”–on which he cuts out the background synths for 2 seconds and just keeps the beat going before bringing it back for this crazy climax: SICK–but Feist fans should check out his version of “My Moon My Moon” in which her ethereal vocals are mixed with his creepy computer voice endlessly repeating the track’s title.  Weird…but awesome.

Although the songs can get monotonous at times (he definitely doesn’t rely on the banging bass that Justice does to keep you going), Oi Oi Oi is definitely not a disappointment and I’d recommend it to anyone who digs European electro. The awesome disco skull on the cover should be incentive enougth to pick it up 🙂

– Alex Kish, Reviews Editor

Comments Off on Editor Picks 43: Boys Noizzzze





Comments are closed.



