20 Watts


Editor Picks 56: Sweden’s Other Secret by alexandrakish
November 18, 2008, 5:47 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

el-perro-2

Last summer when I was interning at Anthem magazine, the first assignment they had me do was to transcribe someone else’s interview with three Swedish pop stars.  Although the assignment was rather tedious, I had no clue that I was transcribing interviews with Lykke Li, Anna Ternheim and El Perro Del Mar.  Likewise, I went online and listened to them all.  And although Lykke was the one who grabbed Anthem’s attention first–she’s electro-y, like the magazine–Miss Del Mar was secretly my favorite of the three singer-songwriters.

Unlike Lykke, El Perro Del Mar’s music is sweet and simple, and sounds straight out of the 1960s.  No electronic beats or strange instrumentation inhibit Del Mar’s whispy soprano vocals (which would make for a good battle between her and indie queen St. Vincent).  Granted, I haven’t listened to her album, “From The Valley To The Stars” all the way through yet, but I already have track “How Did We Forget,” on repeat..  When El Mar sings about her man messing up their happy relationship against a doo-woppy, haunting piano and trumpet melody, its dark tone track exemplifies her vulnerable sound.

Check it.

– Alex Kish, Reviews Editor

Comments Off on Editor Picks 56: Sweden’s Other Secret





Comments are closed.



