20 Watts


Editor’s Pick #75: Junior Boys – “Parallel Lines” by caitlindewey
February 26, 2009, 9:43 pm
Filed under: Editor Picks | Tags: ,

HEY ALL.  

So I had intended to bring you a witty and relevant preview of Junior Boys’ latest effort, Begone Dull Care, which comes out April 7 on Domino (thank Tuan for the leak). 

But, now that the time has come to write said preview,I find myself incapable-  I’ve only made it through the album 2.5 times. 

Why, you ask?  Is Begone Dull Care a hot over-synthed mess?  Did Jeremy Greenspan and erstwhile engineer Matthew Didemus bust out the autotune, 808s style?  Have Junior Boys lost their musical edge in the post-iTunes-commercial era?

…nah.

It’s just that the first song off the album, “Parallel Lines,” is SO GOOD that listening further is difficult.  Whether this is a good or a bad thing for our Canadian electropop friends is still to be determined, but I find myself unable to take “Parallel Lines” off repeat.  One listen is simply not enough. 

I can’t pinpoint the exact cause of this addiction, but I suspect it has something to do with Greenspan’s thin and somewhat anemic voice stretched over seedy Euro-club synth beats.

 Junior Boys – “Parallel Lines”

Hot.

– Caitlin Dewey, front-of-book editor

3 Comments

Dull to Pause is a better song. Undoubtedly.

Comment by Tuan Le

Haha. Liiiike I said, I’ve only listened to the rest of the album twice.
BUT I will check it out.

Comment by Caitlin

Ehh. I would say it’s different, not neccesarily better. They’re two entirely different styles.

Comment by caitlindewey




Comments are closed.



