20 Watts

Keep it Classical: SUSO Concert 3/3/09 by mklaing

images2The Syracuse University Symphony Orchestra is excited about its upcoming concert next Tuesday. The concert includes works by George Enesco, Edvard Greig, and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.

The Romanian Rhapsody by Enesco is a high-speed, whimsical, and exhilarating piece, which highlights the technique and talents of the flute section. The Holberg Suite by Greig is a piece written for the string orchestra, and showcases the different colors that a string ensemble can create. Finally, the Mozart Sinfonia Concertante is, as the name would suggest, something of a mix between a symphony and a concerto, and features soloists Jim Krehbiel (my teacher!) on violin and Li Li on viola.

This promising concert takes place on Tuesday, March 3rd at 8:00 PM in the Setnor Auditorium of Crouse College. Hope to see you there!

-Meredith Laing

Comments Off on Keep it Classical: SUSO Concert 3/3/09

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: