20 Watts


Editor’s Pick #91: New Camera Obscura by tjwell01
March 25, 2009, 1:18 pm
Filed under: Editor Picks | Tags: ,

I just got this album from Matador Records, and I can’t stop listening to it. I vaguely remembered that Camera Obscura existed, but never gave them any credit. But, the band’s new album My Maudlin Career is awesome and mixes retro 1950s pop jingles with today’s contemporary edge. 

You never know what you’re going to get with freebie albums record labels send out. Ninety percent of the time, it’s crappy acoustic albums from no-name artists. My usual reaction? Rolling my eyes and clicking “delete.” But, My Maudlin Career is a rare success story that is worthy of  attention. The single “French Navy” is one of those perfect songs that can sit on repeat all day. I love the singer’s voice…whatever her name is.

The album comes out on April 21st, and I strongly recommend picking it up. Until then, check out the video for “French Navy” and appreciate the 70s French movie-esque look it has.  Just look at the singer’s hair and that stewardess blue ribbon around her neck. I love it.

–Jett Wells, Co-Reviews Editor

Comments Off on Editor’s Pick #91: New Camera Obscura





Comments are closed.



