20 Watts


Editor’s Pick #125: Just Jack Covers “Live Your Life” by tjwell01
April 14, 2009, 12:13 pm
Filed under: Editor Picks | Tags: , , ,

justjack2_flPretty Much Amazing introduced me to this funny cover. Just Jack, from the United Kingdom, covers “Live Your Life” by T.I. (feat. Rihanna).

This is the first cover of “Live Your Life” I’ve ever heard, and surprisingly, it’s half-way decent! I especially love it when Just Jack’s accent comes out in T.I.’s verses. It’s an acoustic cover, which works well, and brings out a different folky dimension to the song. It’s nice finding out different elements to songs you love that you never knew they had.

I’ve played it three times now, and it’s arguably just as enjoyable to listen to as the original. If this were a hip-hop cover, where some rapper tried to mimic the original completely, it would be shit. Good covers are not direct imitations, they’re crafty interpretations. Also, props to Just Jack for recruiting back-up singers to pick up Rihanna’s harmonies.

I’m trying to think of the best cover I ever heard by a professional band. I’m stumped? What are your favorites?

[UPDATE: Here’s a Justin Timberlake, “Sexy Back” cover by Corinne Bailey Rae. Jazzy.]

–Jett Wells, Co-Reviews Editor

2 Comments

I don’t know if you’re aware of BBC Radio 1’s Live Lounge but you can find so many awesome covers on YouTube. My favourite has to be Corinne Bailey Rae’s interpretation of Sexyback. She jazzed it up and made it very soulful. Check it out here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v5P9lZC4stE

Comment by ravenxwaves

Yeah, I heard about that. I think they have a full album of these covers on Amazon. Thanks for the link

Comment by Jett Wells




Comments are closed.



