20 Watts


Editor’s Pick #136: New Manson Album… by tjwell01

marilyn-manson_000784_mainpictureStereogum is reporting that the new Marilyn Manson LP, “The High End of Low,” set to release on May 26th, has some interesting track names.

What a surprise!

Here are a couple examples, allegedly: “Pretty as a Swastika,” and “Arma-goddamn-motherfuckin-geddon (the single).”

Not that this is anything new. I just thought it was funny, because everyone thinks he’s a nut, but the fact is–it’s an all act, and he’s the one laughing last.

My first moment of respect for Manson (and others would agree) was when he chimed in on Michael Moore’s “Bowling for Columbine,” saying the most enlightening truth about the Columbine tragedy. Moore asked Manson what he would’ve said to the shooters if they were still alive, and he said, “I wouldn’t say a single thing. I’d listen to what they have to say, and that’s what no one did.”

From that point on, I kind of viewed him as this political genius toying with society, by intentionally making people fear him, hate him, but undeniably attract them. That’s his game, and these new track names aren’t any different.

I guess it goes as no surprise I used to listen to a couple of his albums. My favorite song is “The Fight Song.” It got me jacked up before every race on the track team in high school.

–Jett Wells, Co-Reviews Editor

Comments Off on Editor’s Pick #136: New Manson Album…





Comments are closed.



