20 Watts


Editor’s Pick #138: Rick Springfield “Jessie’s Girl” by bzr
July 16, 2009, 2:16 am
Filed under: Editor Picks | Tags: , , , ,
rick

Despite all reports to the contrary, "Jessie's Girl" never gets old

My friends will mock me endlessly. My co-workers here at 20 Watts will question my taste. My parents will question my sanity. And even the geeks in their A-Team T-shirts watching their “BJ And The Bear” reruns on VHS will probably look at me sideways. But I don’t care. Because Rick Springfield’s “Jessie’s Girl” is a fantastic song.

Technically I may be a a child of the 80s, but using that phrase is akin to saying that I’m a Olympic-level swimmer because I tripped and fell into a puddle once when I was in middle school (OK fine, last week).

I can’t remember a single thing between the years of 1987-1989, mainly because I hadn’t figured out how to cry without drooling on myself yet. So seeing people my age, in their “Little Miss Perfect” shirts and espousing how much they want a Devo hat is ironic to say the least — it’s a callback to an era we feel like we’ve been through before, but we don’t remember anything about.

Perhaps it’s just wishful thinking. After all, they looked like they had fun back then, with all the cocaine and Baywatch and all that.

Either way, we can still appreciate this song which manages to avoid sounding schlocky or dated, unlike most of the synthesized mess from the rest of the decade, or the overblown hair metal cheesiness blasting out of countless third-gen Pontiac Firebirds across the Garden State. It’s about an emotion we’ve all felt before, unrequited love and envy for the one she’s (or he’s) with. But it still manages to be catchy, even hopelessly so.

Go ahead and headbang, you know you can’t help it.

— Blake Rong, Features Editor

4 Comments

No hate here! I love that song too.

Comment by tjwell01

So true. As sad as it is, I could listen to this one all day.

Comment by johncassillo

HELL YES!

I was rockin’ this tune in the car yesterday.

Comment by unapologeticallyalpha

Guilty pleasures are so… er…. pleasurable. Amen!

Comment by onmywaytomentalhealth




Comments are closed.



