20 Watts


Editor’s Pick #215: The Avalanches’ “Frontier Psychiatrist” by elizabethvogt

When you discover a new song through a friend or acquaintance, you usually go home, do a little research and download it almost immediately. You might spend about an hour or so typing the lyrics in Google, but for the most part, there’s instant gratification. Some of us are not so fortunate…

During my freshman year of high school, I carpooled with my cool, indie-music-savvy friend who would always play the best music on our dreary, early-morning rides to school. One day, she put on quite possibly the weirdest song I had ever heard. It sounded like a bunch of lines from movies were meshed with music and random sound effects. Little did I know, the song was “Frontier Psychiatrist” by well-known Australian act The Avalanches.

Unfortunately,  being the meek little freshman that I was, I never asked the name of the song. No matter how hard I searched, for some odd reason, I could never find the song for at least 4 years. This past Thursday, I walked into my friend’s room to find something incredible playing on his laptop. It was the video for “Frontier Psychiatrist”. I screamed out of pure joy and disbelief. I couldn’t believe after almost 5 years of searching I had finally found this song!

All anecdotes aside, “Frontier Psychiatrist” is agreeably one of the most brilliant and unique songs to ever be created this decade. Released as a single from The Avalanches‘ Since I Left You, the eclectic track samples various lines and scores from movies such as “Polyester” and “Lawrence of Arabia“. The video is just as trippy, but strangely, you can’t help but watch it at least twice. Needless to say, whatever The Avalanches decide to put out next will surely be “crazy to coconut”.

— Elizabeth Vogt, Assistant Front of Book Editor

Comments Off on Editor’s Pick #215: The Avalanches’ “Frontier Psychiatrist”





Comments are closed.



