20 Watts


EDITOR’S PICK #216: LUKE TOP’S “PLAINEST DRAUGHT” by dana20watts
November 18, 2009, 1:24 pm
Filed under: Editor Picks | Tags: , , , , ,

Luke Top, lead singer of Fool's Gold

PREVIEW: LISTEN to Luke Top’s “Plainest Draught” on his MySpace

You know when you find a song that pulls at your heart strings, but you don’t really know why? That’s how I feel about Luke Top’s “Plainest Draught.” Half of the lyrics are incomprehensible, but for some reason it’s become the song that I play on repeat at least five times a day. Maybe it’s the mild angst in his voice, or the way the music creates emotion itself, without any help from words. All I know is that whenever I listen to this song, every feeling I’m having is brought to the surface and vanishes- almost like a self-cleansing.

Luke Top, lead singer of Fool’s Gold, has definitely strayed away from the happy-go-lucky, Afro-pop music his band is known for in his solo career. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that his music isn’t happy; he just shows a few more emotions in his unaccompanied works. And I must say I’m pretty thankful for it, since now whenever I’m in a weird mood I just play this song and suddenly, everything is right with the world.

— Dana Mikaelian, Communications Director
Comments Off on EDITOR’S PICK #216: LUKE TOP’S “PLAINEST DRAUGHT”





Comments are closed.



