20 Watts


Editor’s Pick #249: The Earth and Sigur Rós by elizabethvogt
December 29, 2009, 11:33 pm
Filed under: Editor Picks | Tags: , , , , , ,

So, last night I decided to watch that nature documentary Disney released this past year called Earth. I wasn’t expecting much considering I have a deep and personal relationship with BBC‘s borderline cult series Planet Earth. Though Disney‘s Earth does feature clips from Planet Earth, I was still on the fence considering the film is only 90 minutes in length. Within the first 60 seconds of watching the Disney experimental doc, however, I was hooked.

You know when you see an exceptionally good movie and can’t stop thinking about it? Well that’s pretty much how I’ve felt all day. Needless to say, I’ve been scanning YouTube trying to find clips of some of the incredible, jaw-dropping moments the crew at Disneynature somehow captured. After a few minutes of searching, I stumbled upon quite possibly one of the most epic videos on the web: Planet Earth clips set to Sigur Rós‘s “Hoppipolla”. I guess it’s only fitting for such a beautiful song to accompany a short yet intimate tour of such a beautiful planet.

–Elizabeth Vogt, Assistant Front of Book Editor

Comments Off on Editor’s Pick #249: The Earth and Sigur Rós





Comments are closed.



