20 Watts


Editor’s Pick #301: “Doe Deer” by Crystal Castles by tjwell01
April 15, 2010, 7:27 pm
Filed under: Editor Picks | Tags: , ,

They're back, and the new sound is electric.

PREVIEW: Crystal Castles’ MySpace

LISTEN: “Doe Deer” by Crystal Castles

It’s only a short, radio-version of the song from BBC Radio 1, but if “Doe Deer” is a reliable indicator of the new Crystal Castles album coming out in June, then we’re in for something awesome and special. It’s a lot more fast-paced and bouncier than we’re normally accustomed to, and I love that! I wish the track was longer, but this is all we get for now. It leaves me craving for so much more. There were questions if this band was going to break up a while back, but after seeing them perform at All Points West last summer, there was no doubting the passion from this band. You could smell the sweat trickling from Alice Glass’ nose, and you could feel the tremors from the bass. You don’t perform like that and half-ass it, and now with this released track and fresh new tour, Crystal Castles is back for real this time. I for one am stoked. What say you?!

–Jett Wells

2 Comments

I’m still mixed about the album, to be honest. “Doe Deer” is completely different than everything else on it though, unfortunately.

Comment by johncassillo

I think it’s 17/20 for me, just short of 18. It lacks the high-energy you love about Doe Deer…but the first half of the album is stellar, I think.

Comment by tjwell01




Comments are closed.



