20 Watts

The 20.9: The Elephant 6 Collective by 20watts

The Elephant 6 Collective

A record label.  A collection of musicians.  An ethos.  A cult.  The Elephant 6 Collective is all that and more. Based in Athens, Ga. (after originating in Denver), and formed by Bill Doss, Will Hart, Jeff Mangum and Robert Schneider, it started out as a way to record and release their psychedelic influenced lo-fi pop. It soon spiraled and transformed, with other artists joining and band members working on each others’ albums. Eventually, it became less of a recording company than a pool of artists who shared a similar style and philosophy about making music.  And it was from this pool that some of the greatest artists of the genre’s modern era — Neutral Milk Hotel, The Apples in Stereo, of Montreal and The Olivia Tremor Control to name a few — got their start.

So what’s the very best of trip-hop? 20 Watts’ MARC SOLLINGER has the answer in our ninth 20 installment. Watch for new 20s each Thursday, only on 20 Watts, and check out our previous 20s below!



20 Watts Reviews The Apples in Stereo’s #1 Hits Explosion by Irina Dvalidze
The Apples in Stereo release a collection of their best work

The Apples in Stereo release a collection of their best work

PREVIEW: Download The Apples in Stereo “Energy” MP3
WE GIVE IT: 14/20 Watts

Whether you have heard of The Apples in Stereo because you are a hardcore indie music fan, or you just used to be addicted to their Powerpuff Girls promo song, there is no doubt as to this band’s musical genius. Consistently compared to The Velvet Underground and The Beatles, critics agree The Apples in Stereo aren’t like most bands today.

Emerging from The Elephant 6 Recording Company, a collective of American acts that included The Olivia Tremor Control, Neutral Milk Hotel, Elf Power, and of Montreal, The Apples in Stereo are most notorious for the radiant, cheery lyrics and bubbly, ’60s inspired resonance.

Finally, after over a year of inactivity, The Apples in Stereo are releasing #1 Hits Explosion. A compilation of the band’s most notorious singles and “hits,”  it includes such releases as “Energy,” “Ruby,“Signal in the Sky” and “The Rainbow” in its sixteen-track ensemble.

The album serves as a chronicle of the band’s evolution, exemplifying the sound and the direction they have been developing since the early ’90s.  Despite it being full of the tracks we have grown to love, you can clearly hear the evolution in the sound, and technique to the fullest. Continue reading