20 Watts

20 Watts’ Best of 2009 by 20watts

20 Watts brings you the Best Albums of 2009!

So, the champagne’s out, the fireworks have stopped, the ball has dropped. The year 2009 may be long gone … But the music is still here — vibrant and waitng for masses who have yet to consume it! Naturally we want to help y’all out. Here’s 20 Watts’ list of the 20 best albums of 2009, from us to you! Enjoy!

Love and stereo,

20 Watts


20 Watts Best of 2009: #10 Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ It’s Blitz! by elizabethvogt

Yeah Yeah Yeahs' It's Blitz! is #10 on our Best of 2009 list

PREVIEW: VISIT Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ MySpace

Big things were happening for Yeah Yeah Yeahs in 2009. Even though Karen O’s recording of the Where The Wild Things Are soundtrack seemed to overshadow the band’s achievements for the last few months of the year, the defining moment of 2009 for the band was without a doubt their release of their third studio album, It’s Blitz!.

It’s Blitz! is quite possibly Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ best album to date, gaining them a Grammy nomination for Best Alternative Music Album.  Compared to their last album, Show Your Bones, which received a nomination in 2007, It’s Blitz! follows the trend of experimenting with a more electronic sound. For YYYs, however, this undertaking was one of the smartest things they could have ever done.

The instant hit, “Zero”, is arguably the best track of the album. By releasing it as the first single, YYYs cleverly introduced their fans to a new style. While most songs still keep YYYs’ classic sound of Karen O’s stabbing vocals against loud guitars and bangin’ drum beats, the band throws in a few curveballs that pack more synth than a Duran Duran concert—well, you know what I mean.

The album´s most surprising tracks, however, are its ballads, like “Little Shadow” and “Runaway.” While an album´s slowest tracks usually get lost in the midst of fan favorites—“Heads Will Roll” for example—the slow tracks actually work in the band’s favor, baring Karen O and the gang’s emotional side to their audience.

It’s Blitz! was indubitably one of the best albums released in 2009. YYYs are rising faster and faster to the top and there’s no way they are coming down any time soon.

–Elizabeth Vogt, Assistant Front of Book Editor

Leak of the Week 10: Yeah Yeah Yeahs – It’s Blitz! by Tuan Le
February 28, 2009, 10:46 am
Filed under: Leak of the Week | Tags: , ,

149141yyysjpegThis past week there were leaks of Neko Case’s Middle Cyclone, Akron/Family’s Set ‘Em Wild, Set ‘Em Free and Lady Sovereign’s Jigsaw, but the leak of the week is undoubtedly the Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ It’s Blitz!

This is the third full album from the NYC band and is a welcomed departure from their dance-pop sound.  With the addition of synthesizers, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs have created a darker tone while keeping their music upbeat.  The album is pretty incredible from start to finish, with songs that linger long after they’ve played through.

Highlights include “Zero,” “Soft Shock” and “Hysteric” but I’m sure everyone will find something to like.

It’s Blitz! is due legally via Interscope on April 13, 2009.  This is a must-listen album.

– Tuan Le, Co-Reviews Editor