20 Watts



Listen: Download the full show right HERE

Preview: Make sure you check out Audiocandyradio.com

It is Thursday night and 20 Watts Radio is on Audiocandy. Make sure you tune in and don’t miss out on our great selection of awesome tunes.  We have some cool news happening at 20 Watts you simply cant miss. We are gonna give you a run down on some local shows that will be happening this weekend. We will also tell you a little about our much anticipated trip to the magical land on CANADA. On top of that we will be playing some of your requests, all you need to do it tweet at you host here. So make sure to join 20 Watts on Auodiocandy 10 pm sharp. To tune in Click Here.

Playlist Below:

1.The Way We Get By – Spoon
2. Freely – Devendra Banhart
3. The Room Got Heavy – Yo La Tengo
4. Taxi Cab – Vampire Weekend
5. Taft Was Sick – Bearplane
6. Rich – Yeah Yeah Yeahs
7. GlĂłsĂłli – Sigur RĂłs
8. My Only Swerving – El Ten Eleven
9. Glory Box – Portishead
10. In the Summertime – The Rural Alberta Advantage
11. 99 Problems (Such Great Heights) – DJ Consequence
12. Gentle Sons – The Pains of Being Pure at Heart

13. Black Plant – The Last Shadow Puppets
14. Delivery Man – The Cool Kids
15. Giving Up On Love – Slow Club
16. Genesis-Reply To Censure – Team B
17. Set yourself on fire – Stars
18. Cold War – The Antlers
19. Stone- Sarah Aument
20. Dying Is Fine – Ra Ra Riot
21. Simple Way – Port O’Brien
22. Mouthful Of Diamonds – Phantogram
23. Weekends And Treehouses – Young Prisms
24. Honey from a Stone – Mouth’s Cradle

25. Speed of Sound ft. Big Sean- Mike Posner
26. Memories (Featuring Kid Cudi) – David Guetta

–Irina Dvalidze


20 Watts’ Best of 2009 by 20watts

20 Watts brings you the Best Albums of 2009!

So, the champagne’s out, the fireworks have stopped, the ball has dropped. The year 2009 may be long gone … But the music is still here — vibrant and waitng for masses who have yet to consume it! Naturally we want to help y’all out. Here’s 20 Watts’ list of the 20 best albums of 2009, from us to you! Enjoy!

Love and stereo,

20 Watts

20 Watts’ Best of 2009: #18 Port O’Brien’s Threadbare by jluposello
December 3, 2009, 8:48 pm
Filed under: Best of 2009 Albums | Tags: , , ,

Port O'Brien's Threadbare is #18 on our Best of 2009 list.

PREVIEW: Visit Port O’Brien’s MySpace

TOP TRACK: “My Will Is Good”

The Californians of Port O’Brien made their mark on the indie scene this year with a nautical-themed third release, Threadbare. The concept behind the record itself lies in the unfortunate passing of vocalist Cambria Goodwin’s younger brother. In the wake of the event, the group decided to dedicate the record to tracing the progression of constantly changing emotions that one experiences after the loss of a loved one. By bookending the record with the tracks “High Without Hope 3” and “High Without Hope”, the group sets the tone of the record and then successfully closes it on the same note.

While the concept behind the record is admittedly morbid, Port O’Brien refuses to be bogged down by the seriousness of the subject matter. The emotions present from track to track are constantly fluctuating (see the progression from “Sour Milk/Salt Water” to “Leap Year”), highlighting the group’s notable variety. They execute their lighthearted folk jams and introspective dirges equally well, making the record equally impressive from top to bottom.

In the end, Threadbare is heavy with emotional weight, but always pleasing to listen to. Port O’Brien draws on their nautical roots to create a truly beautiful homage to Goodwin’s brother. They separate themselves from the seas of neo-folk, spiritual-but-secular, that have flooded the scene as of late with Threadbare and place themselves solidly on our Top 20.

-John Luposello

20 Watts Reviews Port O’Brien’s Threadbare by jluposello
Port O'Brien's New Release - In Stores October 6

Port O'Brien's Threadbare is set to hit stores on October 6

PREVIEW: DOWNLOAD Port O’Brien’s “My Will Is Good” MP3
WE GIVE IT: 16/20 Watts

Once again, Port O’Brien hits home with another emotionally heavy and musically gratifying release, this time with Threadbare. The album is the group’s darkest pursuit to date, and confirms a new maturity that can be found in the group’s writing. Departing from the nautical theme that has been ever-present in the group’s work to-date, it is a marked change in both sound and lyrical content.

The album traces the progression of emotions that one often finds themself experiencing after the death of a loved one. Its inspiration came from the unfortunate passing of Goodwin’s younger brother. Some may speculate, however, that this is the reason for the bottomless emotion that can be heard on some of the tracks. Continue reading